Longest Running Triple H Fansite
Since 2006

March 30, 2016

Details on WWE Adding the “Legacy Award” to the WWE Hall of Fame This Year

WWE posted a graphic in its online store advertising the “Legacy Award” at this year’s Hall of Fame ceremony.

The graphic lists seven pro wrestling legends including Ed “Strangler” Lewis, Frank Gotch, George Hackenschmidt, Lou Thesz, Mildred Burke, Pat O’Connor and “Sailor” Art Thomas.

According to F4WOnline.com, Gotch and Hackenschmidt responsible for the first huge gate and spearheading wresting getting national headlines, Lewis being the most famous wrestler of the 20s, Thesz being the dominant world champion of the 50s, Burke being the first women’s champion to get worldwide attention and O’Connor being one of the smoothest workers of his day.

WWE has already inducted Gorgeous George, Buddy Rogers and Antonino Rocca, who were contemporaries of Thesz and O’Connor, however the company has yet to induct anyone into the WWE Hall of Fame prior to the days of television. It appears as if the “Legacy Award” might be honoring the pioneers of pro wrestling who were not TV stars.

 photo i_zps0ebed5ab.jpg
Oderint Dum Metuant: Let Them Hate As Long As They Fear